Interview mit Santa Cruz

Hallo Rocker!

Geht los und googelt bitte diese Band (wobei ihr bitte „Santa Cruz Band“ eingebt…)! Kauft Euch die Platten, hört Euch die Musik an. ENDLICH mal wieder eine junge Band die es wirklich, wirklich verdammt nochmal drauf hat!

thumb_12895542_981999245182275_726471611_n_1024
Quelle: LARS JOHNSON PHOTOGRAPHY (http://www.larsjohnson.net)

Santa Cruz wurden 2007 in Helsinki gegründet. Wie sie zueinander fanden, könnt Ihr gleich im Interview nachlesen. Diese Bühnenpräsenz – da fehlen selbst mir schlicht die Worte! Man schaut gebannt auf die Bühne, gespannt was wohl als nächstes passiert. Verruchtes Auftreten, rotzige Riffs und eine markante Stimme… Man wird in eine andere Welt versetzt von vier Jungs, die kaum fünf Minuten älter sind als ich selbst. Das ist man von „den Großen“ Bands gewöhnt, aber man erwartet es niemals von einer Vorband. Doch dann kommen Santa Cruz, und alles was man bisher von Verbands kannte, ist nicht mehr ernst zu nehmen. Ich habe mich lange mit den Jungs unterhalten, wir einigten uns darauf, dass sie den „Santa Cruz-Sound“ draufhaben… Weshalb ich auch nicht versuchen werde, es jetzt in Worte zu fassen. Aber nehmt meinen Rat an, hört Euch diese Band an. Santa Cruz sind auf dem steilen Weg nach ganz oben, zu „den Großen“, wo sie schon jetzt problemlos mithalten.

Wir führten das Interview nach der Show und ich habe selten so gelacht wie an diesem Abend. Ich hoffe Ihr habt beim Lesen genauso viel Spaß wie ich direkt vor Ort… Aber schaut selbst:

thumb_Image 17.03.16 at 23.42 (1)_1024

Come Backstage:

You founded in 2007. How did you came up with the idea of forming a band?

Archie Cruz:

Me and Johnny met in 2007. I had a few bands before this, but not one was that kind of band, I really wanted to have. For a long time, I’ve been looking for the right kind of guys to found a band with… That I could play exactly the kind of music that I wanted to play you know, everyone just wanted to play shit like Maiden or Metallica… And I wanted to play like… More Rockers stuff! And there weren’t really guys up for that. Everyone in Finland wanted to play MELODIC! Or Power-Metal or something like that… So when I met Johnny, I remember he had a Mötley Crüe Backpatch!

Come Backstage:

Oh man, that’s cool! (smiles)

Archie Cruz: 

(smiles) Yeah, it was! And I was huge into Mötley Crüe that time.

Come Backstage

Everyone should be huge into Mötley… They’re one of the best bands of all time!

Archie Cruz:

Absolutely! And I was like: Dude, this guy is wearing a Mötley Crüe Backpatch, he looks cool, if he can play, he’s gonna be in my band! (smiles) So, thank god he could play!

Johnny Cruz:

A little bit (laughs)

thumb_IMG_4377_1024

Archie Cruz:

Yes, a little bit (laughs) not that good…

Come Backstage:

He’s working on it, come on! (laughs)

thumb_IMG_4448_1024

Archie Cruz:

He is… (smiles) So I told him that we’d have to form a band. And it’s gonna be called SANTA CRUZ. And Johnny was just like „Ok dude, let’s do it!“ Right after that we started writing songs right away for like half a year. We had a bass player and a drummer as well, but they didn’t fit the bill… Then I met this motherfucker (points at Middy Cruz). He was singing in a Finnish Band …

Middy Cruz:

It was super-glam-sleaze shitty band…

Come Backstage:

What was the name of the band?

Middy Cruz & Archie Cruz:

SLEAZY ROSETTA!

Come Backstage & SANTA CRUZ:

(start laughing out loud)

Come Backstage:

You’re kidding! (laughs out loud)

Middy Cruz:

(Laughs) It couln’t get sleazier than that (laughs)!! It was AWFUL! I called Johnny one day, and I wanted to join the band and play bass. He heard that I was singing in a shitty band and that I didn’t play bass(smile). I said „Dude, give me a week!“. Then I practiced a bit… And that’s how I got in the band.

Come Backstage:

And where did you guys all met?

Archie Cruz:
Well you know, Helsinki is a small city. The band scene is pretty small.

Tazzy Cruz:

Everybody knows everybody…

Archie Cruz:

And I knew there was a loser called Middy who was in a shitty band. (laughs) We needed to make him a cool dude (smiles)!

Come Backstage:

Well it seems like it worked out! (smiles)

Archie Cruz:

So that’s what happened in the end. He’s okay now as you can see (smiles). Still a lot to wish for, but…

Come Backstage:

(laughs out loud) He’ll sure work on it (smiles).

Archie Cruz:

We found Taz a year after that. We had like three drummers before Taz,…

Come Backstage:

Three? Dude that’s a lot!

Archie Cruz:

Yes, I know… But we had some problems and issues with each of them. I just knew Taz in Helsinki, he was huge in the Thrash-Metal-Scene… He was a cool dude. But I never even thought of him as OUR drummer.

Come Backstage:

Why not?

Archie Cruz:

You know, because he was a bit different… That time we were huge into Mötley Crüe, Guns’N’Roses… But Taz was listening to… Municipal Waste and that stuff. So he was a bit different at that time.

Come Backstage:

I hope he likes Mötley now?

Archie Cruz:

Of Course! (laughs) He even liked them back then, I just didn’t knew it! Now he listens to fucking Elvis and shit… (laughs)

Come Backstage:

Elvis is great, man!

Archie Cruz:

Yes, I know… Then we started thinking of Taz as our drummer… We played a Skid Row song together, I think it was „Monkey Business“, and I told him he had to smash the drums harder. Like really fucking harder. He was a technical player, he was fucking good, don’t get me wrong… But he had to put some attitude into that. The next day we were doing it again, and he was like smashing the shit out of the drums (laughs). And I was like „Dude, spot is yours…“ (laughs).

Johnny Cruz:

That’s why he’s broke now; he doesn’t have enough money to buy the sticks…

Tazzy Cruz:

Yes, I’m broke because I smashed my drums into pieces (laughs).

thumb_IMG_4419_1024

Come Backstage:

(laughs) We talked a lot about Mötley Crüe, Guns’N’Roses… Who are your influences?

Archie Cruz:

You know, I don’t mean to be rude, but I fucking hate that question.

Come Backstage:
Why? Everyone hast influences and roots…

thumb_IMG_4500_1024

Archie Cruz:

Let’s say, if you asked me 10 years ago, or even 5 years ago, I would’ve named exactly that bands you just talked about. But as you grow up, you listen to a lot of music, yo get into different genres and then you just want to make your own style and your own kind of music. You know, we don’t want to sound like Mötley Crüe or do as much as cocaine as Mötley Crüe did… (laughs)

Johnny Cruz:

What?! Take that back! (laughs)

Come Backstage:

(laughs) Yes I get that, but in my opinion every single person if musician or not, has influences. Sometimes you don’t even notice them, but they are just there! There will always be a band, an album or even a song which impacted on you so hard you won’t ever let go.

Archie Cruz:

I know I get that… You’re right. We just want to be a rock band… and create something of our own!  So it’s no use wanting to sound like somebody else…

Come Backstage:

That’s why I talked about influences and not a role-model in general… (smiles)

Archie Cruz:

Well, if you put it like that… It would definitely be Mötley, Guns, W.A.S.P., I was huge into Maiden when I started… Van Halen, Skid Row, Bon Jovi…

Come Backstage:

The early Bon Jovi I suppose? (laughs)

Johnny Cruz:

Crush…

Archie Cruz:

Lost Highway (laughs) Of course the early Bon Jovi…

Come Backstage:

I like the early stuff more too, but there are still good songs you know. (smiles) On the one side I appreciate it very much that Bon Jovi changed, because you can’t remain the same for almost 40 years… You would be lying and it wouldn’t be genuine anymore… So it’s very honest and sincere, that Bon Jovi isn’t the band it was back in the eighties… (smiles)

Archie Cruz:

Of course, of course… You get bored one day… Except AC/DC, they never changed. (laughs)

Middy Cruz:

The ones that didn’t change, are the ones who are forced to quit or only play at throwback-festivals.

thumb_IMG_4412_1024

Come Backstage:

How did you came up with the bands’ name, SANTA CRUZ?

Archie Cruz:

I was like in the third grade… I just picked up a guitar and had dreams of being in a Rock-Band. So I was writing the names of every band that I loved on the cardboard at school… Like Def Leppard, Mötley Crüe,… And I just saw Santa Cruz on the map one day, just next to the cardboard. I thought it sounded very cool… There are many bands who just have very hard names like „Hellraiser“ or something… So to me it was a name, I never heard before in the Rock scene…

Middy Cruz:

It has a positive vibe in it…

Archie Cruz:

Exactly!

Come Backstage:

It kinda reminds me of holidays… sunny…

Archie Cruz:

And I love surfing and Skateboarding… So it reminds me of that too…

thumb_IMG_4481_1024

Come Backstage:

So what do you guys love most about being on tour?

Archie Cruz:

PUSSY AND THE DRUGS MAN! No, just kidding… (laughs)

Come Backstage & Santa Cruz:

(laughing out loud)

Archie Cruz:

The show… The show is the most important part…

Johnny Cruz:
And hanging out with the fans…

Come Backstage:
Really? Few bands still do that…

Johnny Cruz:

Yes I love it. That’s why I was a little late for the interview, I’m sorry (smiles)

thumb_IMG_4404_1024

Come Backstage:

It’s okay (smiles). And what do you like less? Do you already miss home a little?

Middy Cruz:

The shitty bus company is the worst thing!

Come Backstage:

Olli from Reckless Love told me that the bus company was just great! (laughs)

Johnny Cruz:

Yes, because they got the new one!

Archie Cruz:

I think the waiting ist the shittiest part. Waiting at the airport, waiting in the bus, waiting backstage…

Come Backstage:

I heard that before…

Archie Cruz:

I know it’s a cliche, but it’s true.

Come Backstage:

So, what do you do while waiting all the time?

Archie Cruz:

It depends… Sometimes you drink beer, and sometimes you drink beer…

Come Backstage:

Well, and sometimes you drink beer, right?

Santa Cruz:

(laughing out loud)

Archie Cruz:

(laughs) Yes, you got it! Today it was sunny, so I went out to skate a little bit… And we played Ping Pong with some dudes… Forrest Gump style…

thumb_IMG_4440_1024

Come Backstage:

(laughs) Sounds like loads of fun… Ping Ponging… Let’s get serious again (laughs). What are your goals as a band for let’s say, the next five years?

Archie Cruz:

To develop our style even more. I’m really looking forward to the next album. It will be a lot more of me, of US. I want it to be SO good, that we won’t get tired of the songs. It’s something that comes from deep inside of me… And shows of course…

Come Backstage:

Any tours planned?

Archie Cruz:

Maybe next year, same time… March… We plan to release the album in January or February.

Come Backstage:
So I hope to see you again soon!

Archie Cruz:

I hope so too (smiles).

Come Backstage:

Is there some band you’d absolutely love to tour with?

Archie Cruz:

Bands who are still around?

Come Backstage:

Of course!

Archie Cruz:

Of course (laughs)… Okay… I think it would be Aerosmith. I think the guys won’t be around that much longer… Or the Stones… But with the Stones the thing is, that the fans are like 50 years old…

Come Backstage:

Or even older (laughs)… Could be the same with Aerosmith.

Archie Cruz:

Yeah, like 666 years old (laughs). I don’t think so, because they have songs like „I don’t wanna miss a thing“ and stuff… They capture younger people with it.

Come Backtage:

I hate it that Aerosmith are always „I don’t wanna miss a thing“, „Crazy“ and „Crying“, that sucks! They have so much great songs!

Archie Cruz:

I know, you’re so right! But it’s funny, because there aren’t a lot of bands like them… They have three generation of fans. The first generation was back in the seventies, when they were doing drugs and shit… Then the second generation being like Rag Doll or Get A Grip Album… And the third generation is like at the end of the nineties, so they have like the whole specter of ages, which is really fucking cool to me.

Come Backstage:

I agree with that! I was just a little  disappointed by Music From Another Dimension… You know the album?

Archie Cruz:

I don’t like it that much though.

Johnny Cruz:

Me neither…

Come Backstage:

We seem to share the view… But if you have to convince a young person to listen to Rock music… Which song would you show him or er and why?

Archie Cruz:

How old would that person be?

Come Backstage:

Let’s say about thirteen?

Archie Cruz:

Thirteen? Then I would say Welcome To The Jungle from Guns’N’Roses… and Paranoid man (smiles)

Come Backstage:

Classics… (smiles) Which one would you choose, Johnny?

Johnny Cruz:

Smoke On The Water by Deep Purple.

Middy Cruz:

I would go with a different Guns… Paradise City! And maybe some older stuff like Jumpin’ Jack Flash from the Stones.

thumb_IMG_4487_1024

Come Backstage:

I like your choices! This is my last one… If you could have a fantasy dinner with three persons of your choice, who would you invite?

Archie Cruz:

Jimi Hendrix, Marilyn Monroe and Vlad the Impaler…

Middy Cruz:

Iggy Pop, Keith Richards and Jesus Christ.


Come Backstage:

That’s an interesting dinner though! (laughs)

Johnny Cruz:

John Lennon, Keith Richards and I can’t make up a third…

Come Backstage:

What about your granny for example (laughs)?

Santa Cruz:

(start laughing out loud)

Johnny Cruz: 

Thank god she’s still alive!! (laughs) What about you, Taz?

Tazzy Cruz:

Elvis, Michael Jackson and Marilyn Monroe!

thumb_IMG_4386_1024

Wir unterhielten uns noch eine ganze Weile. Es ist schön, sich mit Menschen zu unterhalten, denen die gleichen Bands, Alben und Künstler ebenso bekannt sind wie einem selbst. Auch wenn wir nicht immer einer Meinung waren, war es dennoch sehr interessant ebendiese anderen Sichtweisen auf die Musik und die verschiedenen Alben und Künstler zu erhalten. Ich kann es kaum erwarten, die Jungs das nächste Mal wieder abrocken zu sehen. Sobald Santa Cruz wieder auf Tour sind könnt Ihr Euch sicher sein – ich werde dabei sein – und Ihr solltet Euch das Rock’N’Roll Spektakel nicht entgehen lassen!

Eure Ornella.
Long live Rock’n’Roll!

Kommentar verfassen

