Interview mit John Corabi & Marco Mendoza, THE DEAD DAISIES

Hallo Rocker!

Das war vielleicht eine Ehre – letzte Woche konnte ich Marco Mendoza und John Corabi der Allstar-Band THE DEAD DAISIES interviewen! Zwei supernette Kerle mit denen man auch gerne mal einen trinken würde…

thumb_IMG_4873_1024

Die Hard Rock Band THE DEAD DAISIES wurde 2012 gegründet und besteht aus hochkarätigen Künstlern. Sie sah viele Musiker kommen und gehen, doch das jetzige LineUp übertrifft alles! John Corabi (ehem. Mötley Crüe), Marco Mendoza (ehem. Whitesnake, Thin Lizzy), Doug Aldrich (ehem. Whitesnake, DIO), Brian Tichy (Ozzy Osbourne, Foreigner) und David Lowy.

thumb_IMG_4866_1024

Diesen Sommer werden sie ihr drittes Album „MAKE SOME NOISE“ veröffentlichen und ich habe schon Ausschnitte daraus gehört. Auf dieser Platte sind harte Songs mit tollen Melodien, die direkt ins Ohr und einem nicht mehr aus dem Kopf gehen! Vor allem auf das Stück „Mainline“ freue ich mich schon sehr; eine spannende Thematik mit teilweisen eigenen Erfahrungen der Bandmitglieder. Was John und Marco zu dem Song sagen könnt Ihr gleich hier nachlesen…

thumb_IMG_4932_1024

Come Backstage:

Hi guys, thank you for your time!

Marco Mendoza: 

Pregho, bella!

Come Backstage:

Could you tell me, how THE DEAD DAISIES formed back in 2012?

Marco Mendoza: 

Well I started THE DEAD DAISIES… I was touring in Australia with Thin Lizzy, Mötley Crüe and KISS. David Lowy was opening up with his band, because he is from Australia, and I thought they had some good songs… a cool Band! So we started talking and before I left on that tour, I had a meeting with David and his manager. They told me about this thing and if I’d like join. They send me some music to consider… And I thought it was really cool stuff! Then they said that they would open up for Aerosmith, so I moved my schedule around a little bit to be available, and we headed off. It was something very serious, really well put together and organized… And it’s SO CREATIVE! We’re always writing and creating… We’re always moving! Back then, Jon Stevens was the singer, but he had some personal issues we won’t get into it now… So he had to go. We had so much to do, a show in Cuba, a new record for which the studio was booked, a tour with KISS… So we found ourselves up against the wall. I knew John and I’ve been a fan of him for years, and we’ve been talking recently. So he was the first guy who came to mind – right away (smiles). I just called him, and this was one of the few times he answered a call (laughs). I told him the story, and that was it.

Collage_TDD

John Corabi:

Yeah, that’s pretty much the story. Marco called, and I was actually touring with my solo band. So I as well moved some things around and got into a plane to Cuba.

Marco Mendoza:

We had a show there, and it was in front of a big audience… It was amazing! It was exactly what we were looking for. He’s easy to get along with, he’s funny as hell (smiles), he’s a great frontman, a great singer, a great songwriter… And he’s actually really cute too. (laughs)

John Corabi:

(laughs out loud)

Marco Mendoza:

After that we proposed to him, because the next thing was doing the record in the studio… And everyone got along with him well… So we headed off and just started recording! (smiles)

Come Backstage:

And apparently it worked out really well! How did you came up with the idea of the band’s name?

Marco Mendoza: 

That’s a David Lowy – Jon Stevens thing actually. The inception was, that a friend of ours was told that he’d better take care of himself, because otherwise he’d be pushing up daisies which means dying… Then it was just like BOOM, they had a logo made and when I saw it, it hit me.

Collage_IV

Come Backstage:

We’re here at the musikmesse in Frankfurt – why did you decide to play here?

John Corabi:

We got invited actually. We just finished the new record called „MAKE SOME NOISE“ two weeks ago. Then musikmesse invited us, and we thought of it as a great chance for us to come up and play for a lot of people. Also it was a great possibility to meet the european press like you. A lot of people are here already, so we could to a lot of press and stuff like that before we go back to america. I think we’ll come back in June and do a lot of festivals! (smiles) We’ll also do KISS in America… We’re busy for the rest of the year. It’s going to be great! But that’s also the reason we found that this is a good way to get things rolling before the record comes out. (smiles)

Marco Mendoza: 

We wanted to introduce ourselves to Europe.

Come Backstage:

You just finished your new album… What can the fans expect from it?

John Corabi:

First of all, it’s called „MAKE SOME NOISE“, it will be out in August. I think it’s just kind of a natural progress. Everyone knows that Richard and Dizzy had to go back to Guns’n’Roses, so we got Doug… And we started writing. I don’t want to say it’s heavier, but it’s a little more aggressive than the last one. Every song is just a kick in the teeth!

Marco Mendoza: 

It definitely is! It’s in-your-face-Rock’n’Roll! Great lyrics, great sounds… just having fun you know!

thumb_IMG_4830_1024

Come Backstage:

Sounds great, I’m very curious now! Which topics do you deal with in your lyrics?

John Corabi:

Everything,… I’m very proud of the fact, that there’s 10 songs on the record, and there isn’t one song where I repeat myself!  (smiles) So there’s one about a girl…

Marco Mendoza: 

Addiction…

John Corabi:

Drug addiction! There’s one about the world right now… The one that we played – „Long way to go“…Then there’s one just about riding Motorcycles… That’s very cool. (smiles)

 

Come Backstage:

And where do you get your inspiration from?

John Corabi:

The music tends to give me a vibe… If it’s something that’s a little slinky it reminds me of a sexy girl on a dance pole… or whatever… You know I can’t really explain it, it’s almost like a video in my head… And then I go „THAT song is giving me THIS vibe, and that’s what I’m gonna write about!“… There’s a song about addiction…

Come Backstage:

Do you mean „Mainline“?

John Corabi:

Yes, exactly! (looks surprised)

Come Backstage:

The promotion agency gave me a few sections of the album to hear… (laughs)

John Corabi:

Oh okay, now I understand! (laughs)

So Marco and I were talking, and you know, I’ve never really had … well I’ve had some issues, but not like other people that I know… So I was talking to Marco about it and he has had some issues in the past… So I asked him to help me out with this… And we came up with a great title and some lyrics!

Collage_Addiction

Marco Mendoza: 

It’s awesome!

Come Backstage:

I know, I absolutely love the song! Well or at least the sections I’ve heard of it… It’s great!

John Corabi:

Thank you! I think it’s a little weird, because it goes by very quick and I don’t actually say… Well what’s the word, when you go very vague about something…

Come Backstage:

Subtile?

John Corabi:

Yes, thank you, subtile! I don’t talk very direct about it… I make it sound like you’re going on a train, but it’s actually about doing drugs and the ride the drugs will give you. I really think that the lyrics are awesome!

Marco Mendoza: 

It’s about how bad you want to get off but you just can’t stop…

Come Backstage:

I’m so looking forward to hearing it completely!! Could you tell me about your songwriting process in general?

John Corabi:

I think it’s very easy with this band. When we go in it’s funny,… We’re not as most bands… Even the last record,… I was in the band like for three weeks and the manager told us that we’ll be going to Australia for making a new album! It’s funny because some of us live in Australia, some in Los Angeles, I live in Nashville… So we’re all over the place.

thumb_IMG_4795_1024

Come Backstage:

So how does it work?

John Corabi:

When we got to do a record, we sometimes send around sound files with the mobile phone… In another point of the work, we all go together in one spot. And it’s very democratic. We all throw our ideas out, and the ones that everybody kinda likes, we start working on! So we may have 25 ideas, and we only need 10 or 12… So we all take a piece of paper and write down the Top 10! And then we count – the songs which are liked most by the band are in, and we start working… But it’s very easy with this band as I said, on the last record, David came in with a bunch of great ideas, Marco came in with a bunch of great ideas… Even Brian – he’s a great guitar player by the way – came in with ideas… So it’s really cool!

Marco Mendoza: 

Yes it’s great, because there’s SO much good stuff.

John Corabi:

Our producer, Marti Fredericksen… If someone says „Hey, I like this song“ he’ll be like „me too, but this one is better!“….

Come Backstage:

He knows what sounds best…

Marco Mendoza: 

Yes absolutely! And we trust him so much! He can feel it… I had a really great time with him, it was so easy working. Just great!

thumb_IMG_4933_1024

Come Backstage:

You both have been playing in very famous bands and successful as Mötley Crüe, Whitesnake, Thin Lizzy… But what are your goals with THE DEAD DAISIES?

Marco Mendoza: 

To be more successful! (laughs)

Come Backstage:

(laughs) Well, that’s actually very honest! (laughs)

John Corabi:

Well I think that everybody that does anything artistically… I don’t care if you write poetry, if you write music, if you write books or if you’re a hairdresser… You’ll do a great haircut and go „Wow, that’s awesome!“ and you always want to top that. So I think that anybody that does something creative, artistically,… Always wants to top what they did in the past…

Marco Mendoza: 

Success is very relative. I don’t like the success „bigger than…“, I think to be honest, this era is gone. The Mötley Crüe, the Whitesnakes…

John Corabi:

It’s a different time… 70s, 80s…

Come Backstage:

Stop making me sad! (laughs) I absolutely love that time and the music of that time!

Marco Mendoza: 

Oh no, we do too… We grew up listening to all that! But today success is measured by other standards.  We had a very successful musikmesse Frankfurt show. Tomorrow is gonna be even better… There you go, to be successful try to better yourself and to beat yourself! Be creative. (smiles)

thumb_IMG_4829_1024

Come Backstage:

Thank you for those beautiful words! (smiles)

If you had to convince a young person to listen to Rock music, which song would you show him/her and why?

John Corabi:

I just love classic Rock…

Come Backstage:

But which is THE song?

John Corabi:

Wow. That’s pretty tough. You know what honestly, I think there’s quite a few perfectly written songs out there… But I would say Stairway to Heaven!

Come Backstage:

Led Zeppelin… Why?

John Corabi:

It’s a beautiful song! And it’s a song even my mother liked. She heard it and was like „wow, that’s beautiful..“

Marco Mendoza: 

It is beautiful, it’s like a journey! (smiles)

John Corabi:

A bombastic song! That was a band which was on fire right there! (smiles)

Come Backstage:

And for you, Marco?

Marco Mendoza: 

Woow…

Come Backstage:

Which song kicked you…

Marco Mendoza: 

Which song kicked me in my head… wow… Anything from Abbey Road – The Beatles! I don’t need to explain that, it’s obvious!  (smiles)

Come Backstage:

And if you could have a fantasy dinner with three persons of your choice, who would it be?

John Corabi:

I’m gonna have two dinners. The first dinner would be with Charlie’s Angels with a lot of wine, so I can take them back to my room, that’s my first choice! (laughs)

Marco Mendoza & Come Backstage: 

(laugh out loud)

John Corabi:

But if I could I would have dinner with Jimmy Page, Paul McCartney and Steven Tyler!

Come Backstage:

Steven Tyler is one of the coolest guys EVER!!!

John Corabi:

He is!!

Come Backstage:

Who would it be for you, Marco?

Marco Mendoza: 

Jesus Christ, Dalai Lama and Charles Manson. I want to understand and learn a lot of things from them!

Collage_show

Fazit: THE DEAD DAISIES muss man gesehen und gehört haben! Sie schreiben Songs, die morgen schon zu den Klassikern gehören werden. Mit der unverwechselbaren Stimme von John Corabi und vielen, wahnsinnig verschiedenen Persönlichkeiten innerhalb der Band sind spannende Stücke und Shows vorprogrammiert! Diesen Sommer kommen die Jungs auch erneut nach Deutschland – seid dabei, ich werde es auch sein! Von THE DEAD DAISIES werden wir sicher noch einiges auf die Ohren bekommen…

Eure Ornella.
Long live Rock’n’Roll!

Kommentar verfassen

